Swag…What Swag?

**Chipo’s Post**

Hello to any newcomers, and hello to my faithful readers! Thank you for reading this post of mine once again…your support means the world to me. I mean it.

***

Now, I know that I’m probably going to have quite a few (or maybe more than a few) people who will be rather mad at me by the time they’re done reading this post – if they manage to stick it through to the end. Nevertheless, I am going to keep writing. Before I go on though, please note that this is not a direct hit at anyone. Just a mere observation. You know what they say though: “If the shoe fits…wear it!”

Now. Swag?

What is swag? In this world we live in, I can never go a day without seeing or hearing the word “swag”. Be it in a song, in a tweet, in a Facebook status, as a caption for a photo, or in an average conversation. It’s a little sad, though, come to think of it. Swag is spoken about among youngsters on a regular basis. Try bring up current affairs and these same youngsters will go blank. But that’s another post for another day.

I am genuinely curious to find out what swag means to you. Once upon a time, not too long ago, swag used to mean being all kitted out in the latest hoodies, sneakers, and chains whilst jamming to the loudest, most nonsensical popular music out there. Now…swag has so many different meanings it should have a dictionary of its own.

Swag can be defined according to anything:

  • Having the most money in your social circle
  • Having the “fly-est” girl or guy as your partner
  • The clothes you wear
  • The people you interact with
  • The pictures you post up on Facebook

The list goes on!

Is there really a universally agreed upon definition of swag? Or is it just a word thrown around so that certain people can feel superior to other people? From what I’ve seen one man’s swag can be another man’s trash. I’m serious!

A few months ago, whilst conversing with a few “swagged-up” guys, a fashionably dressed male walked by. By fashionably dressed, I mean the brother was looking on point in his sophisticated attire (how’s that for some flashy vocabulary?). Me being the girl I am, looked and nodded in approval. The boys I was hanging out with, however, thought otherwise.

“Psht!” one of them spluttered. “That ain’t swag!”

“Why?” I asked curiously. “He’s got a good look. He’s got the manly walk. He seems to be in control of himself. Shouldn’t that count as ‘swag’?”

The boys laughed and shook their heads as if I was totally oblivious to the world I lived in.

“Chipo, trust me, that is not swag.”

So as I’m typing this scenario, I’m thinking: Well maybe swag isn’t so good after all?

Think of it. This guy – the fashionably dressed one -,whom I can call a good friend of mine now, has his plans on deck. He knows what he wants. He knows what type of image he wants to portray. He knows where he’s going in life. The other guys I was conversing with were another story. They were – and probably still are – part of the “Y.O.L.O” movement. Their lifestyle entails doing wild and crazy nonsense involving sex, booze and maybe even drugs is all they’re about. That is their definition of “Swag”. Let me be 110% honest with you…ladies…if I had to choose…I’d choose the focused “non-swagged-up” guy. Because as you all know – thanks to Facebook and Twitter – Swag is not going to pay the bills. 

Moving along swiftly.

Swag has wiggled itself into the very way we communicate! Decent English is not classified as “swag”. This is not coming from my own judgement. I’ve experienced more than enough times. Now I will not lie – I enjoy using big words in conversations. I enjoy intellectual discussions. That is me. I’m a writer for crying out loud. How else am I supposed to improve my skills and garner new creative ideas? Anyway. On many and I do mean many occasions I’ve been given enough the funny looks and disapproving opinions for my way of interacting with people.

 

tumblr_m97oqhTDzk1rr0skxo1_1280“Chipo, that isn’t cool. All those big words and what not.”

“Gee, smarty, calm down. That ain’t swag.”

If you think I’m lying…guess again. Real people. Real conversations. Real words.

But then again…what do I know? Maybe I’m just totally ignorant to the world that is “Swag”. Maybe I need to be educated on the essence of swag?

Swag. What is it to you? What does it mean in your life? How has it affected you?

As for me…I’m just puzzled. Girls running after guys with “swag” i.e. money, a car, and over-sized pants that are getting intimate with the ground. Guys practically selling their souls just to get some “Swag”. Rappers making millions and millions off of dysfunctional tracks that have the word “Swag” and its counterparts flowing in and out of people’s ears. If that’s what life is about then I’m just about ready to go join the Lord then…I am just saying.

A very funny thing, well I find it funny, that I have come across is that the some of the people posting up pictures and statuses like “Swag is for boys. Class is for men.” and “Swag isn’t going to pay the bills” are the same people blasting “Turn My Swag On” and the likes at any given time. Just a mere observation.

At the end of  the day, like me or not, this world of young adults is confused. Chasing after the most trivial things just to get labelled with popular culture’s version of “Approved” – that being the s word – I’m getting tired of saying it. Laugh. My question is why? Why go to all that trouble? Why is it so worth it? Enlighten me. Make me understand. Because from where I’m standing, all I see is fog along with a lot of lost people trying to justify the fog. If you get the metaphor…I may just give you a plate of cookies.

Before this post turns into a novel, I’d like to end it with a stream of thought that I encountered during the wee hours of Thursday morning. Some of you have probably seen it on my profile:

“Swag…what exactly is swag? Is it the way people dress in an attempt to replicate the fashion sense of many well-known figures? Is it the way people put on fake “American” and/or “British” accents just to sound like a ‘real jetsetter’? Or maybe it’s the way people put up supposed affluent pictures of themselves just to gain a like or twenty from friends on Facebook?

The list goes on…so…swag? What exactly is swag?”

I look forward to your responses 🙂

5 thoughts on “Swag…What Swag?

  1. i read this one post and this blogging thing is something i can see myself doing…if u ll teach me, i ll faithfully accept…however as it concerns the piece, am sure u do nt only hope to get a thumbs up so as stressful as it is for me to review via my fone, here i go…ur points r brilliant and clear…however i cannot help but feel u r nt seeing the full pic. there r tyms wen acquisition of swag is necessary…sometimes smartness is nt all about rejecting ideas u r oppos

    1. u r opposed to but also understanding it in order to hav the upper hand against those who r involved wit it n d swag itself…i even go as far as to say this management can lead one deeper into d path of selc realization…thus, u who hav found urself can even feel empathy for those buried in the nonsensical swagdom lol…in essence, i agree wit u to most extents thuz u deserve a thumbs up chipo.

      1. I wouldn’t mind helping you out with starting your blogging 🙂 I’d be more than honored! Trust me, I most definitely did not write this to gain readers’ approval. That’s just a highly futile mission. I write to evoke thought, responses etc. Comments like the one you’ve given make me smile because it’s things like that that give me a different perspective to what I’ve been writing. I agree with all your points and thank you for the thumbs up 🙂

  2. Wow an amazing article, now heres my 2cents on this particular topic… swag to me is a misguided journey of self discovery, youngsters are out there trying to be i quote “swagged up” in the belief that that is who they are but i realy doubt being just like Drake is anyones true self {just saying} unless if you trully believe that you are drake on the inside then society has got more to worry about than your swag

Leave a Reply

