Why Valentine’s Day?

Writing this post was exhausting. My brain is going to shut down on me by the time I’m done. The moment February came, I knew. I already knew that I was going to blog about for the next couple of weeks. What kind of writer would I be if I decided to forego the topic that is on every person’s tongue, Twitter, and Timeline: Valentine’s Day. I’ve been frantic all week. For the first time since I’d started this blog – I was blank. I had no idea what I was going to write.

My mind was putting me on pressure. “No Chipo, you can’t write about anything else! It’s Valentine’s Month! You can’t just bypass that and act like no one will notice!”

I kid you not, the past few days have not been pleasant. I’ve been looking for inspiration everywhere. Music. Movies. Twitter. Facebook. Books. Radio. TV shows. You name it. So, Wednesday night came and I decided to try to write my weekly post. I was blank. I was border line frantic. Suddenly, a very harsh – yet highly necessary – thought interrupted my frenzy.why

“Why? Why all this fuss?”

Why do we make such a big deal about this day we call Valentine’s Day? Why do we go to the ends of the earth just to make sure that we please a significant (or even an insignificant) other on this particular day out of the 365 (and sometimes 366) days of the year? It feels as if human beings store up all of their emotions and sentimentality as they wait for February 14 to arrive. We’ve lost sight of the purpose of the day. I’m not going to explain it. Google it. Use your internet for something other than filling your social profiles with your views on and plans for Valentine’s Day.

This year seems to be the year of going all out because I’ve already heard some ridiculous demands and requests some people are planning for their significant other. Now I understand why so many relationships go down the cosmic drain after this highly commercialized day has passed.

WAIT!

Before you start to hurl comments at me like “Chipo, you’re such a cynic!” just wait! I am not anti-Valentine’s Day. Heck, I don’t even think I’m for it. What I’m all for is expressing how you feel not because of what day it is but because you genuinely want to. Go and buy those one thousand roses. Book that wonderful dinner. Rent out those beautifully sappy romantic movies. Do it because you care for the person. Don’t do it because “it’s Valentine’s Day”. Why wait for a publicly decreed day to show your affection? Come on now people…we’re way past the days of being global sheep – or at least I’d like to think that.

As the week goes by and we near that fateful day, take some time to reflect on your plans, demands, and requests. Ladies – don’t make outrageous requests so that he can “show you that it’s real”. If it really was real, you wouldn’t need to resort to emptying his wallet just to make sure that he’s serious about you. Appreciate the gift he gets you! The fact that he was thinking about you – says a lot. There’s no need to pull out that “Gold-Digger Today” card. Let’s try enjoying the moment for once, huh? For the right reasons too. 

Men – Valentine’s Day isn’t your ticket to getting her in bed. I’m being real here. Don’t rely on this one day to woo that lady. Don’t fight with her either just to get out of doing something for her. Man up. – I can already feel the resentment coming my way!

Couples, don’t go all out on that one day and then resume with being dysfunctional. Be real.

Single folk, don’t go down the hater route. You know, the whole – “I’m so over Valentine’s Day. Who needs it?” facade.

Actually scratch that. It’s okay to dislike Valentine’s Day. Hey that’s your choice. But there’s no need to belittle those who do enjoy the day. You’ve got your choices and they have theirs. It’s life. Smile!images (1)

Before this turns into a soap box, what I’m trying to say is: Just be real. Take it as every other day. It’s okay to do something special, but don’t throw your entire life into it – there is, after all, February 15…16…17…and the rest of the year to go through. So before you make your plans, take a bit of time to think:

“Why now? Why Valentine’s Day?”. Know what you’re doing before you do it. Have fun. Enjoy the day with friends, family, your husband, wife, boyfriend, or girlfriend. But make sure you let the person know that affection is constant everyday. If you can love them on Valentine’s day, you can definitely love them any other day.

“”When you love someone, you love all of them… you gotta love everything about them, not just the good things but the bad things too. The things that you find lovable and the things you don’t.” – Estelle, Valentine’s Day (The movie)”

One thought on “Why Valentine’s Day?

Leave a Reply

