Bad Medicine For A Broken Heart

*** The DownLow ***

Before we assume things…this is NOT a reflection of what’s going on in my life. The title popped into my mind whilst I was reflecting on a few failed relationships I’ve witnessed. So during a calculus class – yes, accept it – I wrote this poem. Since it’s been a while since I’ve posted…I decided to share it with you all 🙂

***

 

Broken. Hurting. Heart Broken.

Heart Hurting.

Numb feeling ebbing away into the world of

Reality. Reality sets in with pain

So slow. So fast. So real.

Mind whirring. Thoughts ticking. Ticking

With time.

Time knows no pain. Time knows no agenda but

That of its own which ultimately owns

This world.

Time. Time to reverse that moment

Where it all went wrong.

Wrong from right. Right never to be seen

Again.

Again I sit. Here I sit staring. Staring at a

Bottle…container…Your name on the label.

No prescription. No medical prohibition but

Hey.

Hey. Why not just…pop a lid and take a few.

Pull out my phone and text you.

Run back to a door so tightly shut

Pry it open – oh what a rut I’ve encountered.

It’s not good. No not good at all.

Bad medicine for my heart.

But I want it all.Image

Leave a Reply

