21st Century Me?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/daily-prompt-modern/

Daily Prompt:

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?”

Image

Well I don’t have much choice but to belong in this day and age, do I? Some people may disagree and say that one can be in this day and age but they’re totally meant to be a 60’s kid. But…for some reason I beg to differ. What exactly makes one a person of another time? Their preferences? Can one really say they’re a person of the 60’s or the 18th Century whilst skilfully manoeuvring the latest iPhone which definitely wasn’t there back in those days?

If it were based on preferences, I’d say that I’m a child of all centuries. I’m fully adapted to – and rather comfortable with – the 21st century. But my music dates back to as early as the 60’s – I’m talking about tunes that I will dance to in public willingly – maybe. The books I read range from Aristotle’s time to Shakespeare’s era and right up to now – a time full of Marian Keyes, Stephen King, Sophia Kinsella, Stephanie Meyer, and so on. My favourite movies are from now and dating back to the 80’s. On different days I choose to speak like a modern 21st century adolescent or maybe even the Queen of Hearts from a time way back then. So what does that make me? A citizen of multiple centuries? Or maybe I’m just a young lady with a hell of an identity crisis – joke.

To be honest I’m glad I was born now and not back then in the 50’s where life was exciting with new discoveries – and rather tragic thanks to all of the upsets and disillusionment. If I were born in the early 20th Century I would’ve liked to have died before the 21st Century. Why? Well what on earth was I going to do as the world zoomed by me? How these elderly adults do it is beyond me. I’m barely able to accept the fact that shaking your behind in the most obscene way is classified as dancing – twerking. It took me a week or two to adjust to using a Samsung Galaxy device; and to be honest I’d rather read a paperback any day. EBooks are awesome and all but sheesh – I miss the feeling of turning an actual page. See, now I sound like I belong in the pre-technology era. But if you see the way I utilize social networks and all these devices – you’ll think “Typical 21st Century kid”.

I’m not entirely sure as to which era I belong. I’d like to say that I belong to the 21st Century because well…if I didn’t I would’ve lived in a different time. You may call me highly idealistic – I don’t really care. That’s my belief. People belong where they feel they belong. If you think you belong in the 60’s awesome; but you’re still going to have to learn to live in this modern madness. If you think you’re meant for the 22nd Century – you’ve got a bit of waiting to do.

I, on the other hand, am perfectly happy with where I am. But if time machines existed well…

Hey! Don’t look at me like that!

5 thoughts on “21st Century Me?

Leave a Reply

