The Nomad In Me

If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?

 http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/07/daily-prompt-travel/

A nomadic life? Me? The freedom to wonder around wherever I please with no parent calling me every other day asking why I haven’t called? No one to answer to but myself? A life of choosing where I want to live – a cute B&B when I have the money or a comfortable-looking tree on the days where my finances are not with me? A life based on “Carpe Diem”? A life of waking up and I truly am the master of my fate? Captain of my destiny?

As a nomad, I’d definitely meet a new, interesting – this can go both ways – individual every day. A friendly, elderly woman who’d decided to give me a generous donation after seeing my weather-beaten clothes. A lost, drunken soul wandering around as much as me, searching for something to give his life meaning. A nomad like me, embracing life and all of its complexities, perplexities, and strangeness.

I’d enjoy the wandering around and discovering new things. Seeing the world for what it really is. But that has its ups and downs. I’d discover more beauty in nature – ever-shining sunlight; beautiful, cooling breezes; birds singing songs the world will never appreciate. I’d also experience the pain of sleeping outside during an endless thunderstorm; excruciating pain from the bites of different insects; wind so strong I don’t have to walk – I just blow away.

I’d love the freedom to be my own person. I’d understand the meaning of “freedom to choose”. I’d make my own rules. I’d live by my own standards. But I’d also encounter loneliness – severe loneliness. I’d have to put up with seeing happy families laughing over a good dinner in a humble restaurant. I’d have to live with being referred to as a “vagabond” even though I’m not. Forever being seen as a lowly individual just because I’d chosen not to live like my peers.

 

“Carpe Diem” might be fun but I think I value my family, friends, and bed much more. I’ll allow my nomadic nature to remain in my imagination. I think it’s safer there.

Much safer.

Image

4 thoughts on “The Nomad In Me

Leave a Reply

